Senators

President Pro Tempore

Lazaro Rivera

Email: lrivera@stonybrookusg.org

Parliamentarian

Matthew Walker

Email: mwalker@stonybrookusg.org

Class Representatives

Senior Class Senator

Jim Lo

Email: jlo@stonybrookusg.org

Freshman Class Senator

Zoya Shahid

Email: zshahid@stonybrookusg.org

Junior Class Senator

Maame Esi Otoo

Email: motoo@stonybrookusg.org

Organization Senators

Commuter Student Association

Wali Syed

Email: wsyed@stonybrookusg.org

Residence Hall Association

Alyssa Thomas

Email: athomas@stonybrookusg.org

CEAS Senators

Gregory Tam

Email: gtam@stonybrookusg.org

Matthew Nation

Email: mnation@stonybrookusg.org

Kevin Mahon

Email: kmahon@stonybrookusg.org

CAS Senators

Justin Clark

Email: jclark@stonybrookusg.org

James Edell

Email: jedell@stonybrookusg.org

Afshana Hoque

Email: ahoque@stonybrookusg.org

Shaheer Khan

Email: skhan@stonybrookusg.org

Andrew Machkasov

Email: amachkasov@stonybrookusg.org

Maira Gomis

Email: mgomiz@stonybrookusg.org

Jarod Hoke

Email: jhoke@stonybrookusg.org

Justin Ullman

Email: jullman@stonybrookusg.org

Adaeze Williams

Email: awilliams@stonybrookusg.org

Zachary Schaps

Email: zschaps@stonybrookusg.org

Hassan Farraj

Email: hfarraj@stonybrookusg.org

Patrick Scharf

Email: pscharf@stonybrookusg.org

Ryan tam

Email: rtam@stonybrookusg.org

At-Large Senator

Lazaro Rivera

Email: lrivera@stonybrookusg.org

Health Science Senator

Hadi Mohammed

Email: hmohammed@stonybrookusg.org

College of Business Senator

Zubair Piperdi

Email: zpiperdi@stonybrookusg.org

Committees

There are four standing committees in the legislative branch. Each standing committee meets weekly, is chaired by a member of the executive council, and is otherwise composed entirely of senators.

Budget Committee

Reviews and determines all revisions to the annual budget, approves all legislation concerning budget before any such legislation is presented to the Senate, reviews and determines grant requests, and crafts the annual budget for the following year.

Chair: Treasurer Ortega
Vice-Chair: TBD
Members:

Vetting and Legislative Review Committee

Responsible for the vetting of all proposed appointments to agencies as well as independent bodies such as the Judiciary or the Elections Board, reviews legislation.

Chair: Executive Vice President Salama
Vice-Chair: TBD
Members:

Academic Affairs Committee

Chair: Vice President of Academic Affairs Olakkengil
Vice Chair: TBD
Members:

  • Senator Esi Otoo
  • Senator Rivera
  • Senator Syed
  • Senator Shahid

Special Services Council

Responsible for budgetary matters of clubs outside of line budget status, reviews requests for clubs to become USG recognized.

Chair: Vice President of Clubs and Organizations Rodriguez
Vice Chair: TBD
Members:

  • Senator Jim Lo
  • Senator Ullman
  • Senator Faraj
  • Senator Scharf
  • Senator Machkasov